S E C O N D  M E D I A  A N N O U N C E M E NT

European Astronomical Society (EAS)
22 June 2019

Annual meeting of the European Astronomical Society (EWASS 2019) in Lyon, France 

Over 1200 astronomers and space scientists will gather at the Manufacture des tabacs in Lyon, France,from 24-28 June, for the Annual meeting of the European Astronomical Society (EWASS2019). The conference is the annual professional astronomy and space science meeting of the European Astronomical Society (EAS), and is the largest in Europe. Leading researchers from around the world will present their latest work. EWASS2019 is hosted by Université de Lyon, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, CNRS, and Observatoire de Lyon.

Media representatives are cordially invited to attend the meeting and can register at no cost. The press office is located on the first floor, just at the entrance of the ‘Salon des Symboles’, and will be open during conference hours.

For free media registration, please contact the press officer listed below.

A series of press releases will cover key scientific results presented at the meeting, and two media briefings are scheduled:

  • On Tuesday 25 June, Heino Falcke, Radboud University, Netherlands, will give an update on the Event Horizon Telescope. 14:00 pm, room 106.
  • On Wednesday 26 June, ESA briefing on the future missions Athena and LISA. 14:30 pm, room 106. Speakers: Günther Hasinger, ESA Director of Science; Astrid Lamberts, LISA consortium member (Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur in Nice, France); Didier Barret, Athena X-ray Integral Field Unit (X-IFU) principal investigator (Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, Toulouse, France), and Matteo Guainazzi, Athena study scientist, ESA.

Sessions at EWASS 2019 will cover a diverse range of topics, symposia and special sessions, ranging from the physics and chemistry of exoplanets, through galaxy formation, to planet formation, surveys & instruments, and outreach & diversity. There will also be a special session on the celebrations of 100 years IAU: Under One Sky.

There will be 14 Symposia, 41 Special Sessions and 9 Lunch Sessions. The winners of the MERAC prizes – for 3 young scientists -, the Tyco Brahe medal and the Woltjer lecture prize, will give plenary lectures, as well as – among others – Roland Bacon (Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon, France),  Heino Falcke (Radboud University, the Netherlands) and Ewine van Dishoeck (president of the International Astronomical Union).

A full and up to date schedule of the scientific programme can be found on the official website http://eas.unige.ch/EWASS2019/index.jsp and via the conference Twitter account https://twitter.com/ewass2019

Media contact

Marieke Baan
Press officer European Astronomical Society/EWASS2019 
E-mail: ewass-press@kuoni.congress.info
Cell: +31 (0) 614322627 

Note for editors  

The European Astronomical Society (EAS) promotes and advances astronomy in Europe. As an independent body, the EAS is able to act on matters that need to be handled at a European level on behalf of the European astronomical community. In its endeavours the EAS collaborates with affiliated national astronomical societies and also with pan-European research organisations and networks. Founded in 1990, the EAS is a society of individual members. All astronomers may join the society, irrespective of their field of research, or their country of work or origin. In addition, corporations, publishers and non-profit organisations can become organizational members of the EAS. The EAS, together with one of its affiliated societies, organises the annual meeting EWASS to enhance its links with national communities, to broaden connections between individual members and to promote European networks.

Follow @EWASS2019 on Twitter